Led Zeppelin - Transmission Impossible - 3 CD Set
Led Zeppelin - Transmission Impossible - 3 CD Set

Led Zeppelin - Transmission Impossible - 3 CD Set

Regular price
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Triple cd set featuring the best of Led Zeppelin’s 1969 live recordings.

The four musicians who would become forever known as Led Zeppelin, played together for the first time in a room below a record store on Gerrard Street in London, in August 1968. However, at this juncture, they were calling themselves The New Yardbirds, a name under which they toured Scandinavia together in September ’68. Later that month, they began recording their first album, which was based on their live set. The album was recorded and mixed in nine days, and Jimmy Page covered the costs. After the record's completion, the band were forced to change their name after Chris Dreja of the old-Yardbirds, issued a cease and desist letter, stating that Page was allowed to use the New Yardbirds moniker for the Scandinavian dates only.

The source of their new name is a tale told many times, but in their first year Led Zeppelin released their self-titled debut, completed four US and four UK concert tours, and also released their second album, Led Zeppelin II. It was between the release of their first and second LPs that the recordings that make up this 3CD Set were recorded.

Kicking off on disc one, Zep’s performance at the Texas International Pop Festival, just outside Dallas, on 31st August ’69, is featured in its entirety. Taking place just a couple of weeks after the notorious Woodstock Festival in upstate New York, Led Zeppelin’s set is still considered to be the highlight of that weekend’s festival.

Disc two, features the best of Zeppelin’s two concerts at Bill Graham’s Fillmore West in San Francisco in January and April 1969. This recording illustrates well just how the band were developing even over a few months at the beginning of their career.

Disc three concludes this set with a concert played at London’s Playhouse Theatre on 27th June 1969, for live broadcast on the then fairly new Radio One radio station, part of the BBC network.

1. Train Kept A-Rollin' 3:00
2. I Can't Quit You Baby 6:50
3. Dazed And Confused 14:59
4. You Shook Me 10:43
5. How Many More Times/Suzie Q/The Hunter/The Lemon Song/Eyesight To The Blind 10:46
6. Bye Bye Bye 11:42
7. Communication Breakdown 4:40

1. I Can't Quit You Baby 8:34
2. Dazed and Confused 12:46
3. You Shook Me 8:40
4. How Many More Times 7:53
5. Communication Breakdown 4:31
6. Killing Floor 7:31
7. Babe I'm Gonna Leave You 7:00
8. Sitting and Thinking 7:03
9. Pat's Delight (Moby Dick) 13:37

1. Alan Black Introduction 0:38
2. Communication Breakdown 3:14
3. I Can't Quit You Baby 6:24
4. Interview 4:41
5. Dazed And Confused 11:11
6. Liverpool Scene Sketch 3:07
7. White Summer/Black Mountain Side 8:22
8. You Shook Me 10:32
9. How Many More Times 13:34