Jeff Beck - Transmission Impossible - 3 CD Box Set

Jeff Beck - Transmission Impossible - 3 CD Box Set

Regular price
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Jeff Beck first rose to prominence with the Yardbirds, a band he joined in 1965 to replace the recently departed Eric Clapton. However, after getting fired in 1967, he formed the Jeff Beck Group, with whom he recorded two studio albums.

The original JBG - featuring Rod Stewart on vocals and Ronnie Wood on bass - dissolved in 1969, but Beck formed a new band with the same name in 1971, this time with Bobby Tench on vocals and keyboards. The second version of the group also released two albums.

Beck then joined up with ex-Vanilla Fudge members Carmine Appice and Tim Bogert, with whom he continued as the Jeff Beck Group initially, but by the end of 1972 the trio were re-christened Beck, Bogert & Appice.

In April 1973 their eponymous debut album was released but while critics acknowledged the band's instrumental prowess, it was not commercially successful, leaving a second LP recorded but never released.

Jeff transitioned in 1975 and experimented with Jazz Rock, a style he continued with throughout the rest of the 1970s. During the ‘80s, Beck made two albums in a more rock instrumental style, both of which were nominated for Grammy Awards.

In the 1990s, Beck had a higher musical output. He contributed to albums by Jon Bon Jovi, Roger Waters, Kate Bush and Beverley Craven. He also recorded the instrumental soundtrack album Frankie's House in 1992, and Crazy Legs (1993), a tribute to 1950s rockabilly group Gene Vincent and the Blue Caps - and their influential guitarist Cliff Gallup.

Jeff Beck has remained busy too through the third millennium, and his recent live performances (and a single to boot) with a post- court trial Johnny Depp has bought Jeff more celebrity than he has experienced in a long time.

This triple CD set celebrates and documents different eras from Jeff Beck’s long and esteemed career to date, featuring as it does three CDs capturing exceptional live performances by the great man, alongside whomever he was working with at the time.

DISC ONE features BBC radio sessions recorded by various guises of the Jeff Beck Group between 1967 and 1971.

DISC TWO contains a superb recording of Beck, Bogert & Appice, from the Rainbow Theatre in London, on 26th January 1974.

DISC THREE then jumps ahead a couple of decades, as it boasts a stunning JB show from 1995, from the Riverport Amphitheatre in Maryland Heights, MO, on 27th August 1995.

1. Jeff Beck Interview
2. Hi Ho Silver Lining
3. Let Me Love You
4. Stone Cold Crazy
5. (I Know) I'm Losing You
6. Rock My Plimsoul
7. Tallyman
8. This Morning
9. I Ain't Superstitious
10. Beck's Bolero
11. You'll Never Get To Heaven
12. You Shook Me
13. Shapes of Things
14. Rock My Plimsoul
15. You Shook Me
16. Rice Pudding
17. Sweet Little Angel
18. Going Down
19. Ice Cream Cakes
20. Got The Feeling
21. Situation

1. Satisfied
2. Livin' Alone
3. Laughing Lady
4. Lady
5. Solid Lifter
6. Jizz Whizz
7. Morning Dew
8. Prayin'
9. Superstition
10. (Get Ready) Yar Lovemaker's
11. Blues Deluxe/You Shook Me
12. Rainbow Boogie

1. Stand On It
2. Star Cycle
3. Guitar Shop
4. Savoy
5. You Never Know
6. Behind The Veil
7. Freeway Jam
8. Big Block
9. Two Rivers
10. Cause We've Ended As Lovers
11. Sling Shot
12. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
13. Blue Wind
14. People Get Ready